Baltic Sea Commission

  • caption6


    Working Group


Energy Working Group

The Baltic Sea Commission has a number of thematic Working Groups to take forward key issues identified by the BSC General Assembly or Executive Committee. 

Each Working Group has a Chair, who need not necessarily be drawn from the Executive Committee, but who shall be a regional elected politician from a Member Region.

Members of the Working Groups consist of officers and politicians from Member Regions, but groups can also include external experts by invitation of the Chair. The experts may, for example, come from non-Member Regions, institutions, companies or national/local authorities.

During 2015/2016, the BSC Working Group on Renewable Energies will actively:

Monitor Energy Policy

The Working Group will monitor the EU's Policy on Renewable Energy and how it affects investments in renewable energy in the Baltic Region. The intention is also to increase knowledge of how regional and local decision-makers can influence development towards a larger share of renewable energy and higher security in energy supply. Energy from biomass is of particular interest.

Create sharp positioning on Energy Policy that affects renewable energy in the Baltic Sea Region

The Working Group will work on positions regarding energy issues – positions that can be communicated in the processes that shape the future of Energy Policy in the EU, which can be used by the Regions themselves or as input to the CPMR.

Create a project to strengthen the work of the Working Group

The Working Group has started work on these issues and the Chair has been commissioned to create a project that allows for enhanced efforts on the above tasks. The Working Group now has to consider the direction of such a project, gather broader partnerships around the ideas of the project and find a model for financing.



Consult EWG Events

Consult EWG Documents



Transport Working Group

See more...


Maritime Working Group

See more...

Multilevel Governance Working Group

See more...


Energy Working Group

Chair: Mr Richard Sjölund, Regional Council of Ostrobothnia

Vice-Chair: TBC

Action Plan: Link to document



A new BSC website will be launched soon!